The Dominican Sisters of our Lady of the Springs of Bridgeport have been principals and teachers of St. Augustine Parochial School for 27 years.
Dominican Sisters are teachers and preachers whose 800 year old mission was founded and inspired by St. Dominic. His convictions of the way to confront the heresies of his day spawned a new, unique form of religious life: a mendicant order which would combine monastic elements with apostolic elements. The Order was to be theologically sound, grounded in prayer and scripture, located in university towns, and supported always by local community centers.
The joyful spirit of Dominic and the new concept of religious life and purpose was so attractive that the Order grew to 500 by the end of the 13th century. The Dominican Order received papal approval from Honorius III in 1216 AD. Among the earliest Dominicans were Albert the Great (Albertus Magnus) and Thomas Aquinas, both of whom made major intellectual and spiritual contributions to the Church. Both friars canonized by the Church.
The Dominican motto, VERITAS (Truth) is as essential today as it was in the 13th century. And the Dominican education that our children receive will serve them well throughout their life..